top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureA.L. Willrich

Reflecting on the Moments That Defined the Year 2023


As I first started reflecting on the year 2023, it seemed like there was very little that was different from the previous years. Then I realized in 2023, I saw more fireworks.


Fireworks are usually a symbol of celebration or victory. They cause excitement and happiness. Although they are temporary, they are known to elevate people's moods and help them enjoy the occasion even more. The amazingly bright and brilliant colors that light up the night sky evoke awe and wonder.


As I reviewed the year, I realized God had given me some new experiences in 2023. He allowed me to see and do things that I've had a desire to do. (Psalm 37:4) I went to new places and enjoyed the various sounds and sights around me. I met new people. At times, God even put me in uncomfortable places, seemingly alone. (Hebrews 13:5) But, I wasn't alone. He was teaching me to rely more and more upon Him. He was teaching me to enjoy His company and find delight in His Word.


The year 2023 was a time of change, global unrest, and intimacy. At times, I walked with a lot of pain; physical and emotional. The assault on Israel and the war that followed caused me sorrow and spiritual distress. However, I learned valuable revelation from the Word of God, and found a level of praise and worship that took me high above the circumstances of life. I relied on the Holy Spirit to teach me new things. He taught me about being a watchman, intercessory prayer, and discerning dreams and visions from my own thoughts, those of the evil one, and those from Him. He taught me how to pray fervently for my family. (James 5:16) I gained great wisdom and strength from the Word.


Perhaps 2023 wasn't all that I hoped it would be, but God provided for me and protected me throughout the year. He healed me and taught me to how to endure and hang on. (Psalm 41:3) I've learned that some things are yet for an "appointed time." When I asked God how to survive in this world with a culture that embraces wickedness more than righteousness, He told me to "abide in Him."


So, I am thankful. I am very grateful for every experience, event, and encounter. (Psalm 31:19) I am thankful for the dazzling display of light; the sparkle and the colors that illuminated the skies. I am so appreciative of the AWE of God that I saw in the twinkling and shimmering sprays of stars. The fireworks of 2023 gave me great joy.


My prayer for 2024 is that God will draw me closer to Him as I seek to walk out His purposes for my life. To God be the glory!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page